Workshop on LaTeX and Free Mathematical Software

Jointly Organised by

Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana, Pune.

Department of Mathematics, University of Pune, Pune.

Dates: 9th - 14th June 2003.

Venue: Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana, Pune

 This workshop is supported by TeX Users Group (TUG).

Theme The workshop is primarily meant for those who have already used LaTeX and want to know more about it by discussing with experts and by sharing experiences of other participants. The workshop will also include sessions on some public domain/free Mathematical Software.
Topics Utilities for LaTeX like twoup,latex2html, mirroring, etc., Graphics with LaTeX, Pstricks, Pdfscreen, Devnag LaTeX, Amstex and some public domain/free Mathematical Software such as MuPAD (light version), mbox{Singular}, SURF, GNUPLOT, POVRay, PARI, UBASIC, GAP.
Main Speaker Prof. E. Krishnan,
University College, Trivandrum, Kerala.
Probable Speakers C. V. Radhakrishnan,(Trivandrum), Kaveh Bazargan, (U.K. and Trivandrum), D. P. Patil (Bangalore), Amitabh Trehan (Delhi), C. S. Yogananda (Bangalore), Ajit Kumar (Mumbai), S. A. Katre (Pune), V. M. Sholapurkar (Pune), Manjusha Joshi (Pune).
Venue Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana, Pune
Registration Fee
  • For College/University Teachers Rs. 600.
  • For Research Students Rs. 600.
  • For Professionals Rs. 2,000.

Registered participants will get LaTeX C.D. containing LaTeX and other free software, LaTeX primer written by Indian TeX users group and boarding facility. Accommodation will be arranged subject to availablity Participants requiring help in accommodation Mail us. (Total 6 days stay will cost up to Rs.500.)


Last Date of Application 7th May, 2003. Application can be sent by e-mail/ by post. to the address: Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana
56/14, Erandavane, Damle Path
Off Law College Road, Pune-411 004, India.
Participants College/University Teachers, Research Students, Professionals etc. with basic knowledge of LaTeX. Number of seats is limited.


9.30am - 1pm Lectures on LaTeX topics
2.30pm - 4pm Lectures on Free Mathematical Software
4.30pm - 7.30pm Hands-on Sessions


Organising Committee

Chairman: C. S. Inamdar (Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana, Pune)

E. Krishnan (University College, Trivandrum)

S. A. Katre (Pune Univ., Pune)

Manjusha Joshi (Bhaskaracharya Pratishthana, Pune)

Amitabh Trehan (M.G.A.H. Vishwa Vidyalaya, Delhi).